Council fails again to appoint to fill vacancy

The Sammamish City Council failed to appoint a new council member to fill the vacancy created by the resignation of Ken Gamblin in January.

There were nine nominations, although two failed to gain a second. Jerry Norman initially lost on a 2-4 vote. Later, in an attempt to break the stalemate, he was nominated again and lost on a 3-3 vote.

Former Council Member Pam Stuart lost on a 3-3 vote. Planning Commission Josh Amato and Melanie Kelsey, two candidates who were defeated in last November’s council election, lost on 3-3 votes. Samuel Rodabough also lost on a 3-3 vote. Each of the 3-3 votes was split among Mayor Christie Malchow, Kent Treen and Karen Moran as one block and Deputy Mayor Kali Clark, Amy Lam and Karen Howe as the other block.

Kent Treen nominated his wife, Debbie, who once served as mayor of Bothell. This failed on a 2-4 vote, with Moran joining Treen. Treen also nominated Jake Hapner and Michael Boyer, but no seconds were forthcoming.

The council will make another attempt on April 5.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s